Syria 3.jpeg

NOMAD in conjunction with UNICEF Australia is proud to be part of the fundraising initiative, #CookForSyria, in aid of UNICEF Australia’s Syria Crisis Appeal for Children. 

NOMAD’s head chef Jacqui Challinor is collaborating with the country's top talent, incorporating a Syrian stamp on their signature dishes. 

The dinner will kick off at 6.30pm on Monday August 12th. Standard tickets are $295 each, including a four-course menu with matching wines. Special bar seating with a view of the kitchen is available for $350 for a select number of tickets and includes a #CookForSyria recipe book signed by chefs participating in the dinner.

All food and wine has been generously donated so that all proceeds raised directly support UNICEF Australia’s Syria Crisis Appeal. 

MENU

SNACKS

 Spiced chicken, rice and baharat oozy with mozarella

Sarah Knights, Automata @sarsknights

 Pickled quail egg, eggplant and tahini with fried cabbage

Federica Andrisani, Fico Dining @ficohobart

 Fatayer spinach and sour cherry pie

Claire Van Vuuren, Bloodwood @clairevanvuuren 

ENTREES

Pickled mussels and octopus with sumac, chilli oil and Aleppo pepper

Isabelle Caulfield, Poly @isabellecaulfield1

Roasted chickpea hummus, smoked chilli nahm prik pao, snow pea shoots and radishes

Palisa Anderson, Boon Luck Farm @palisaanderson 

Steamed buns, lamb shoulder, date, parsley, nigella and kabuli chickpea curry

Emma McCaskill, Sparkke at the Whitmore @emmajademccaskill

Pumpkin kibbeh with herbs, green chilli and pickles

Thi Li, Anchovy @thiteatee

MAINS

Spiced brisket shawarma with ful and beetroot tarator, turnip and peppers

Sharon and Carol Salloum, Almond Bar @almondbar 

Hiramasa kingfish with tahini cream and barberry relish

Imogen Czulowski, Africola @rag_and_bone

Shaved Lula kebab with crispy bread, tabouli, garlic yoghurt and fermented chill sauce

Shannon Martinez, Smith and Daughters @shannon_martinez

SIDES

Toum and pickles

Jacqui Challinor, Nomad @jacqui_challinor

Wood roasted cauliflower, almond and sweet & sour currants

Jacqui Challinor, Nomad @jacqui_challinor

 Fattoush Halabeh

Sophie Bejok, Ghada Kestabal, Najah Kestabal, Laurette Kbbe, Salwa Aslan  

DESSERTS

Kris Lloyd’s Jester triple cream washed rind cheese slice

Julie Niland, Saint Peter @saintpeterpaddo

 Blood orange sorbet, goat’s yoghurt cream, honey, orange blossom and burnt meringue

Jaci Koludrovic, Icebergs Group @jacikoludrovic

 Served with mint and cinnamon tea.


(All ticket sales are final and non-refundable. Some seating may be communal or may be stool seating at either our window or bar counters.)